Our Curriculum

Our curriculum is based on seeing every child as an individual and tailoring experiences for each child, in the moment. We prioritise independence, confidence, respect for all, self-regulation and a love of learning. We plan learning experiences based on the EYFS 7 Areas of Learning and the Characteristics of Effective Learning and use the intended learning outcomes from Development Matters. 

The curriculum is structured around learning intent, implementation and impact and our children’s cultural capital is of central importance. Children’s interests, key family events and parental involvement is central to our approach and we strive to support all children to reach their full potential.  

At Fairview we develop children’s learning within the Early Years Foundation stage with a wide variety of activities that promote the Seven Areas of Learning.

These areas include:

  • COMMUNICATION AND LANGUAGE: Listening, Attention and Understanding, Speaking.
  • PERSONAL, SOCIAL AND EMOTIONAL:  Self- Regulation, Managing Self, Building Relationships.
  • PHYSICAL: Gross Motor Skills, Fine Motor Skills.
  • LITERACY: Comprehension, Word Reading, Writing.
  • MATHEMATICS: Number, Numerical Patterns.
  • UNDERSTANDING THE WORLD: Past and Present, People, Culture and Communities, The Natural World.
  • EXPRESSIVE ARTS AND DESIGN: Creating with Materials, Being Imaginative and Expressive.